Intake, Headers and Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

how to get that deep throaty sound + exposing A6 exhaust

Old 06-25-2007, 05:23 PM
1st Gear
Default how to get that deep throaty sound + exposing A6 exhaust

Well I'm a noob with just about everything to do with cars. How can I make a car give that deep throaty sound, is there a cheap way say for around 100 - 200 dollars/euros which ever? I've been told I can just fit exhaust tips and that will work or was I just being tagged along?

Secondly I've been looking at an A6 C598-2001 before the "face lift". And well was wondering if there is anyway to change the virtical exhaust to a horizontal one easily or would it take too much effort?

Thanks for any help

Old 06-25-2007, 06:43 PM
Default RE: how to get that deep throaty sound + exposing A6 exhaust

You can lop off the center resonator and replace with straight pipe. But I found the difference absolutely minimal. You can replace the rear mufflers with aftermarket, but the dampen a LOT of sound so be sure you want a loud car, and do a search for some recommendations on mufflers that fit back there.

LLtek.com has a conversion kit if you're looking for visible exhaust tips. Not too difficult, just need to watch for park sensors if so equipped and be careful cutting the rear fascia/cover.

Old 06-29-2007, 01:59 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: how to get that deep throaty sound + exposing A6 exhaust

Here's the link to the LLtek conversion, as smtcapecod said:

http://lltek.com/exhaust_tips_a64b_prefaclft.htm

It looks to be pretty well done (alright, the tips look a BIT cheesy, but hey, it's pretty cheap and they're adjustable) and it doesn't look like it would be too much work, other than cutting the bumper so that they fit correctly. (That would be the hardest part, I'm assuming)