New Member Welcome Area Are you new to Audi Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New and looking to learn about audi's!

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2005, 02:15 PM
Default New and looking to learn about audi's!

Hey guys. I'm new to the Euro car world. As you can probably tell by my username, I'm a full on japanese car chick, mainly because of their reliability.

But I'm looking for a car, and the A4 quattro caught my eye, mostly because of its AWD option which is highly attractive since I live in CT. I was wondering if you guys could tell me a little about the car, their reliability, maintanence costs, normal things that tend to go wrong with the car, any information would be greatly appreciated.

Right now I'm looking at a 96 A4 quattro 2.8L 5spd with 150k so I'm worried that it will need alot of help down the road cuz if I got a toyota or a honda, I wouldn't worry lol. Thx

Old 02-06-2005, 02:52 PM
6th Gear
Default RE: New and looking to learn about audi's!

Hi suprachica79, welcome to the forum. A 96 A4 will probably have a much higher cost of maintanance than a Japenese car. It really just depends on how the car was cared for by its previous owners. Make sure the timing belt has been changed as well as the idle pully, tensioner. Also A4's have a history of control arms and tie rod failures. please search for details. We've answered this question almost on a weekly basis.

Old 02-06-2005, 09:10 PM
18T
4th Gear

try to find something with less miles, go with audi, definitly an experience of a lifetime.

Old 02-07-2005, 01:58 AM

I'm really only looking into the car because the price is only $4200, which is very low for this car, even with this many miles, at least in my area anyways.