Archive - Engine/Performance Parts List your Engine/Performance parts for sale within.

Engine gasket valve set

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2008, 09:43 PM
1st Gear
Default Engine gasket valve set

This is my problem...Am a complete newbie to audis and so appreciate help here. I bought this old 98 Audi A4 Q, 2.8L. And now it has some kind of burning smell coming from under the bonnet whenever i drive the car for even 10 minutes. Firestone says its a oil leak from the gasket valves and that he has to cahnge the Engine Gasket valve set and that would cost about 350 dollars.

He also suggests i change the seals at the rear differential output on both the ends, and that would be a cool 350 bucks up at the Audi service center. One of the forum posts here said that i dont do this latter one unless the differential oils really leaking onto the ground, which it is not.

What do you guys say regarding both the issues?

Thanks
Varun R

Old 04-15-2008, 10:07 PM
Administrator
Default RE: Engine gasket valve set

I'd say that the burning smell may well be oil burning off, and if so it's very possible that your valve cover gaskets are leaking. Take a look along the seam of the valve cover and see if there are signs of seepage. If so, you can order a set of valve cover gaskets from www.ecstuning.com for $50 (that will do both heads), and the install will only take you an hour or so, and most likely less if you have some mechanical aptitude (it's a straightforward swap) and some basic tools (you won't need much for it). I'd do that first, and then see if the smell goes away. As for the diff seals, if the fluid's not leaking out, why exactly is he saying you should change the seals? Did he show you some visible sign that would suggest you should?

Oh, and you probably don't want Firestone working on your Audi's engine like that - find a reputable independent euro shop so you can sleep more easily at night.

Old 04-15-2008, 10:33 PM
1st Gear