Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

A3 Windshield Cracking

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2007, 10:20 AM
1st Gear
Default A3 Windshield Cracking

Newbie here.....2006 A3

last year, i had a crack in my windshield that started right off of the A Pillar on the passenger side, in the middle. moved its way across a bit, then headed down.

i wasnt sure what caused it. rock? brick? i do alot of highway driving, could have been anything.

anyway, got it replaced, and moved on. several months ago, i noticed ANOTHER crack start. again, i do alot of driving, could be anything, but what is odd is that started in what appears to be the exact same spot.

just wondering if anyone has had any, or heard of any, windshield cracking problems.

again, i do alot of driving, but the fact that is the same type of crack, starting in the same area, makes me think

thanx

Rizzo

Old 08-10-2007, 12:09 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: A3 Windshield Cracking

I think it's just a weird coincidence. Unless someone is messin' with you!

Old 08-10-2007, 12:13 PM
1st Gear

If it's from a rock there should be some sort of impact mark, star, chip, etc.
Then the crack spreads from there.

If it's starting at one edge along the A-pillar with no sign of impact from a flying object, there might be some excessive flex or something occurring.

Old 08-10-2007, 12:26 PM
1st Gear

Since I moved to Omaha from New Jersey, 19 years ago, I have replaced a windshield in every car that I've owned or leased at least once. [sm=headbang.gif]

So far notthe A3 but I'm not counting on it staying that way. There are always some stones being kicked up off the road here. I do a lot of driving but unfortunately one of my routes takes me past a rock quarry.There are trucks constantly pulling on the road from the quarryand spilling some stones and then kicking thedarn thingsup from the tires.