Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 Audi A6 2.7L belt tensioner pulley

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2018, 04:59 PM
1st Gear
Default 2002 Audi A6 2.7L belt tensioner pulley

I am new to this (and any forum, for that matter), so I am not quite sure how this all works, but I have a problem with which I need some help. My wife's car (2002 Ausi A6 2.7L Twin Turbo) has thrown the serpentine belt and the culprit seems to be a bad pulley (pretty obvious, as bearing is totally GONE) on the tensioner. At least I think it is the tensioner pulley. I have three questions; 1) does anyone have a picture of the front of the engine showing the serpentine belt and all pulleys, 2) If this pulley is the bad one, can it be replaced without removing the front of the car and/or fan and 3) what is the best way to go about this repair. Thank you for your help!

I have found that the serpentine belt tensioner pulley has catastrophically failed. Can this be replaced without removing the tensioner from the engine? If not, it looks like a &!^(# of a job.

Last edited by wprobasco; 01-14-2018 at 09:25 AM. Reason: Added information
Old 01-31-2018, 10:28 AM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by wprobasco
I am new to this (and any forum, for that matter), so I am not quite sure how this all works, but I have a problem with which I need some help. My wife's car (2002 Ausi A6 2.7L Twin Turbo) has thrown the serpentine belt and the culprit seems to be a bad pulley (pretty obvious, as bearing is totally GONE) on the tensioner. At least I think it is the tensioner pulley. I have three questions; 1) does anyone have a picture of the front of the engine showing the serpentine belt and all pulleys, 2) If this pulley is the bad one, can it be replaced without removing the front of the car and/or fan and 3) what is the best way to go about this repair. Thank you for your help!