Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie with A6, some questions.

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2006, 05:03 PM
1st Gear
Default Newbie with A6, some questions.

I bought a new to me A6 2.7T Quattro today, and love it. Amazing car, and I love the 6 speed tranny.

As a newbie, I have to ask the age old question:

What do I need to do to it to make sure it runs great? It has 78k miles and 9 months left on the extended warranty. I filled it up with 93 octane, and plan to get the tires rotated and balanced, as well as an alignment, and a change of the oil and tranny oil. Anything else? The last owner had great service records...

Also, having HID's is amazing. I'd also like to replace my fog lights with a pair of bulbs from sylvania (the silver star) and get a whiter light out of them...anyone else do this?

Speaking of HIDs, my driver's side HID and high beam is way pointed down...while the passenger side looks right. How do I re-aim it?

As far as mods, I'm very happy with the speed right now, but having owned a turbo before I know the engine breathing is very important. So, what air filter / open element air filter should I look at?

Thanks!

Old 11-10-2006, 05:17 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Newbie with A6, some questions.

A drop in air intake system will trip your mass airflow sensor (MAF). My driver side light does the same, but mine may be a different problem because I hit a bad bump and the light fell in a bit, real bummer, but the road crew insurance is paying for it. but check to make sure the light harness isent broken. As for engine breathing, I am sure it is fine. It was designed to handle a twin turbo, I wouldent worry about it.
-congrats on your new Audi. welcome

Old 11-10-2006, 05:23 PM

Just pick up a K&N flat panel filter and it will be fine. The audi air box has a good design it just takes up space.

Mac

Old 11-10-2006, 05:59 PM
1st Gear