Audi A8 This full sized Audi A8 sedan offers interior luxury and spaciousness comparable to any car in the full sized luxury sedan class

Where to start on 97 a8

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2010, 12:22 PM
1st Gear
Exclamation Where to start on 97 a8

Hello. I am new to the Audi world with a 1997 a8 quattro. I bought it at just about half of the kbb value. I knew it needed work. During the test drive there was a clunk in the steering. Seemed easy enough. I'm sure it needed some steering and suspension work. Needed brakes and tires too. It has 136k and like I said got it on the cheap. Didn't test drive it long. Engine felt good. Trans was good. All electrics but sunroof worked. Not a fan of those anyway. I'm happy, give him his cash and he leaves. I put my tags on it and try to leave. Car will not start. Not a battery issue it's cranking. Fuel pump sounds like it's working. The car started right up when it was cold. Doesn't start after getting warm. Makes for a long day. Any reason for this?
The next pain is the guy cut all of the factory wires for the stereo when he did his install and removal of his after market one. So far 2 stereo shops and one big stereo retailer could find a wiring diagram to replace the factory stereo(which I have) or put a new one in. Lame driving down the road listening to my iPhone.
If I could first and formost get the not starting thing fixed I would be forever in your debt. Trying the engine coolant temp sensor as suggested in a diff thread. The stereo would be icing on the cake.
If anybody in the dc Maryland area has a trusted shop they go to I would appreciate that. Thanks.

Old 11-23-2010, 08:40 AM
1st Gear
Default New problem.