Audi TT The Audi TT line, in both the coupe and roadster combines Audi's All Wheel Drive performance with the feel of a European sports car.

A/C Issue Has Me Stumped

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2017, 12:12 AM
1st Gear
Question A/C Issue Has Me Stumped

Let me start this out by saying that I am a mechanical engineer working in the Aerospace industry, specifically on HVAC. Between myself and an entire experienced engineering department at work, none of us can figure this one out. So here's the summary:

Bought a 2002 Audi TT Quattro Coupe ALMS Edition with 90k miles in June of 2015. Was having an A/C issue where the system wouldn't cool at idle or low RPM's on hot days (above 80 degrees), only at higher RPM's. Also would get a weird "groaning" sound from the compressor at times, which would go away if I revved the engine. The system would cool just fine at highway speeds and the condenser fans worked just fine. Reclaimed the refrigerant using a cart from work, held a vacuum, then recharged to the Audi-specified charge. Didn't resolve anything. The strange part is that I could drive the car home from work (about a 20 minute drive) and park in the driveway for 15 minutes with the car idling and it would cool just fine with no issues. I should also note that I never have any engine over-heating issues.