B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Boost Loss / Turbo Flutter

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2012, 07:28 PM
1st Gear
Default Boost Loss / Turbo Flutter

Hi guys, newbie here!

A little background of me and my car. I bought it about a month ago and have never owned a turbo so thought all was good and dandy. I did a waterpump (coolant leak) replacement as well as timing belt myself. Dealt with some low oil pressure issues which I resolved doing a diesel flush.

That is the extent of my mechanical know-how.

Now, I was looking into my car a little more, it's a 2000 A4 1.8tqm with a K04 and GIAC J31 chip, and found out it should be putting out 18 psi+.. Well it's only ever put out 7. Every time, any rpm, 7.

Now I am starting to get a turbo flutter as well.. I am not sure if this is new or not, but I just noticed it.

I have CEL, but the fault code's I am getting at 3 O2 related and one SEI one.

I just replaced the DV with a Forge one, and that didnt change the flutter.

I am thinking maybe a boost leak (I have no air compressor to test, and that wouldnt explain the flutter), or maybe something with the actuator/wastegate (read online someone had a similar issue due to bad wastegate)

I dont have a garage at my place, or a large tool selection, just my basic toolbox, and am darn close to bringing it into the shop, as it is my DD and I need to up and running.

Can anyone shed any light on these issues in a easy to check way, so I can save some cash?

Thanks!

Old 07-08-2012, 11:24 PM
1st Gear