B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

2003 1.8QT Tip , Vac. at idle (10-11in/hg). Not a leak! Lots of info, please look!

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2012, 07:04 PM
1st Gear
Default 2003 1.8QT Tip , Vac. at idle (10-11in/hg). Not a leak! Lots of info, please look!

I seem to be having vacuum issues on my 2003 Audi A4 1.8T Tiptronic(AMB motor). To get to the chase I’ll state what I think is wrong and the symptoms/testing I’ve done; then I’ll list everything else I’ve done. It’s important to note that this is ***NOT*** a vacuum leak (as in hoses or intake/TB gaskets etc etc). I am also not having any misses or anything of the sort. I am on a stock tune, no chip. The car otherwise runs great and pulls hard. I've been working on turbo cars since I was 17 (1996) and am very familiar around cars.

My vacuum is the following:
In park: 19-20in/hg
In park with AC: 15-16 in/hg
In Drive: 15-16 in/hg
In drive with AC: 11-13in/hg (sometimes 14).

I also notice that my fuel economy at a stop seems to be pretty crappy. Highway driving will net about 25-32mpg, depending on how heavy my foot is that day. The car still has power and runs great, but I notice issues at idle, no one else notices anything wrong. I love this car but this vacuum at idle issue is just driving me up the wall… especially with gas prices these days… city driving does not have ideal fuel economy, but not absolutely horrible (20mpg on average.. 24mpg if I grandma it around).

I do not have any issues with boost. It comes on good and strong. No boost leaks.

I’ve done a compression test a few times without adding oil and once with adding oil, results:

Without Oil (with oil in parenthesis):
Cylinder 1: 170-175 (210)
Cylinder 2: 145-150 (210)
Cylinder 3: 175-180 (210)
Cylinder 4: 175-180 (210-240, not sure why this one got up so high).

I do not have a leakdown tool, but I felt the compression tests gave decent indication of what may be wrong.