General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Bleeding the clutch - what is so special?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2009, 05:46 PM
2nd Gear
Default Bleeding the clutch - what is so special?

I had my mechanic install a new clutch on our 1998 Audi A4 1.8t quattro(some idiot at the privous repair place installed the main rear bearing wrong and had the sealing lip wrong, leaking oil into the brand new, Audi OEM clutch).

We put in a Southbend stage 3. Now my shop has spent the last 3 days drying to bleed the clutch. They have tried everything, even ordered a new "pressure bleed" machine, talked to the local Audi shop, etc.

What is so special about bleeding the clutch system?

Does someone have a detailed procedure to follow that I could provide for my mechanic?

Volker

Old 03-25-2009, 11:41 PM
2nd Gear

I am not experienced in bleeding the clutch, but I presume it is like any other hydraulic system. There is a bleeder valve, and you press the clutch pedal in to remove the air. Dont forget to top off while bleeding the fluid. But, you never know how these German cars work. Good luck!

Old 03-26-2009, 12:16 AM
2nd Gear