General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Boots, CV Joints, or Axles?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2009, 02:23 PM
Default Boots, CV Joints, or Axles?

Hi all,

I am a newbie on this forum, so forgive me if I don't get this post exactly right the first time.

I have a common problem: My constant velocity (CV) boots are split, and the grease is all gone. I have searched the Audi forums and the web, and come up with fragmented info on my options. I am hoping you can help me bring it all together in one place. My options seem to be these:

1. Get a CV boot replacement kit (e.g., GKN brand for $25). Repack the grease, put on new boot, and go.

2. Replace CV joints only. An argument for doing this is here on blauparts.com, which sells them for $90:
http://www.blauparts.com/audi/audi_c...kit.shtml#info

3. Replace the whole axle/CV joint assembly. I have found EMPI and GKN brand axles for about $100 each. This is the route my local garage want to take, but their supplier is charging them $250 each for the axles (I need both fronts).

My questions are: What are the pros and cons of these different repairs? Do they differ much in terms of labor? (Note: I'd like my local garage to do the work, but they won't guarantee parts that they don't get through their supplier.)

Thanks for any advice or info you can provide.

Peace,
Kirbs

2003 automatic A6 Quattro 3.0L, with about $150K miles. Both front outer boots are split, and the car makes a slight pattering noise when accelerating through sharp turns.

Old 06-10-2009, 07:53 PM
1st Gear

Well if your CV axles are making noises they probably worn out of spec due to lack of lubrication. Try driving forward and backwards in a tight circle with the windows down listening for tell-tale clinking axles.

Too bad you didn't catch the problem sooner as you could have just replaced the boots with new grease.