S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans

Headers on B7

Old 05-01-2009, 12:37 PM
1st Gear
Default Headers on B7

I've seen a few posts that mention headers on these V8's.

I've got an 2005.5 avant with AWE cat back and was debating headers.
The big concern is cabin noise. Are they much louder inside. Worth the noise? I do lots of 6-7hrs drives and would hate to take away from the refinement of the inside of the car.

I am also going to look at the engine internals- pistons, cams etc to try to get some similar numbers to rs4....maybe I'm dreaming!

Old 05-01-2009, 03:25 PM
2nd Gear

I'm no expert but I don't think dinking with your internals is going to do it. There is a supercharger out now that runs around $10K that supposedly gives you significant power gains. I was seriously considering it but the cost is too high, plus it has a very loud whine to it and I too don't like a lot of cabin noise.

Old 05-01-2009, 04:07 PM
1st Gear

Your right "dinking"lol with the engine wont do it! I found the technical differances. They refer to the S4 engine as basic and RS4 engine as high reving.

The main technical differences between the base engine and the high-revving engine lie in the following:

Crankshaft/connecting rods/pistons
Timing gear
Cylinder head
Oil supply
Engine cooling
Intake path
Exhaust system
Engine management

The cylinder crankcase of the high-revving engine was machined to higher specifications due to the higher stresses in this component. To minimize warping of the cylinder manifolds, the crankcase is honed under stress. For this purpose, a honing template is attached to the crankcase before the honing process in order to simulate the warping of the bolted-on cylinder manifold.

Modifications to High-revving Engine:
At very high engine speeds, axial vibration occurs due to the unbalance in the single-mass damper. This can cause the crankshaft to break.