S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans

My B6 S4 horror story

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2005, 11:12 AM
Default My B6 S4 horror story

I lived in NoCal and happily drove a heavily modded E36 M3 convertible. My job then took me to Minneapolis, and i figured it was a perfect excuse to get a shiny new S4 ('04 Moro blue, 6-speed). Anyway, I've been driving it for some 15 months, happily I might add, until the other day when we had some heavy rain. I hit a (large) puddle and it died. Had it towed to the Carousel dealership, whereupon then informed me that water had been sucked into the intake and have cracked some pistons, rods and other irreparable damage. This cream puff had only ~7K miles on it.

OK, so insurance kicks in and since they (the dealer) don't rebuild these, it would need an entirely NEW engine shipped from Germany, which with labor etc would be ~$20-25K to do, I was thinking they would salvage it, and I was already thinking 911T, but alas they are going to fix it. Now, making things more interesting is that this is a 2-yr lease that ends in 6/06, so even if it aint the same after the rebuild (which i think it might be fine, since the electrical system/frame/tranny etc were not affected), then i would just turn it in and go hunting for another sweet all-weather ride (911T, RS6, maybe M5/E55AMG in the mix). However, I put a large down on the lease so my residual at the end of the term is LOOOOW, and if i were happy with its performance/feel after the new engine gets dropped in, i might just buy it. After all, it really is the ideal car for Minnepaolis, better than any of the aforementioned cars. Also, it's like a free new engine to me, so it's a tempting thought to say the least!