Go Back  AudiForums.com > Audi Tech > VAG-COM
Cannot connect with KKL VAG-COM for 409.1 >

Cannot connect with KKL VAG-COM for 409.1

VAG-COM (*New* section) Need some help with a VAG-COM? Have some good advice to offer others using a VAG-COM?

Cannot connect with KKL VAG-COM for 409.1

  #1  
Old 06-29-2013, 05:46 PM
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Default Cannot connect with KKL VAG-COM for 409.1

I have a 1998 a4 and im trying to connect to vag-com.
I have a USB connected cable to use, and vag-com 409.1 program.
to use the program I am using to run it is VMWare work station booting up a windows 98 virtual PC.

When I turn it on my car, then plug in my wire, then boot up the program and try to connect it wont connect to my car.
All of the ports that are being shown are "Com" ports, since my cord is USB I figured I'd be looking for a "USB Port" and I don't know why the option is not there.

Is it my laptop platform? the version of vagcom, or what? any advice is appreciated
 
  #2  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:24 AM
1st Gear
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

Originally Posted by Kenny Gerard View Post
I have a 1998 a4 and im trying to connect to vag-com.
I have a USB connected cable to use, and vag-com 409.1 program.
to use the program I am using to run it is VMWare work station booting up a windows 98 virtual PC.

When I turn it on my car, then plug in my wire, then boot up the program and try to connect it wont connect to my car.
All of the ports that are being shown are "Com" ports, since my cord is USB I figured I'd be looking for a "USB Port" and I don't know why the option is not there.

Is it my laptop platform? the version of vagcom, or what? any advice is appreciated
use windows xp and second use a com port
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-2013, 12:49 PM
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Well since i have a USB cord can i just get a usb/com port adapter, or a driver to trick my usb into thinking its a com port?
I'm so close to actually being able to use this program and I'm very eager to make it work.
 
  #4  
Old 07-08-2013, 08:00 AM
1st Gear
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

You have to select com port. Open device manager and select ports and see what port the cable is using.. Must be com 1-4.
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-2013, 12:31 AM
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Default

I just got it to connect to my car, now anytime i scan anything it freezes and goes to "not responding" Exits out.

Sooo close I tried everything I can think of. I even tried to run as admin and run on my vmware 98. same result.
 
  #6  
Old 08-16-2013, 02:49 AM
1st Gear
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Default

I run it in vmware on XP and it works. I'm using a com port. I'm guessing it's either 98 that can't handle it or it just doesn't like your generic cable. My understanding is that the generic cables are a bit hit and miss to begin with.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Expplucky
VAG-COM
1
05-22-2013 06:31 AM
a4audia4
B5 Models
9
11-06-2010 12:57 AM
ast03
B5 Models
15
11-22-2009 12:35 AM
Audacity
B5 Models
7
08-28-2009 09:38 PM
Dennisarnold
B5 Models
2
08-20-2009 08:53 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Cannot connect with KKL VAG-COM for 409.1


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.