B8 Models Please discuss all 2009+ B8 A4 topics here...

Problem with Airbag Control Unit

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2012, 04:51 AM
1st Gear
Default Problem with Airbag Control Unit

Hi All,

Newbie here ... Want to thank you all first for all your valuable info I have got from this site in the past.

I have an issue with my 2005 A4 Airbag Control Unit which has recently gone bad. I managed to get exactly the same part number from eBay which worked successfully. My friend who is a VAG Engineer managed to recode the unit to clear some of the many faults which appeared in the diags.

The only issue we now have is that the unit requires additional recoding with the Vehicle Identification Number. This can't be done with the laptop version of the software he has (especially as it was VW spec, rather than Audi). Took it to a dealer who had a cursory look and decided I needed a new clean Airbag Control unit (about £400 !!!!)

As I am 90% of the way there, I feel a little beaten if I just get the dealer to replace the unit when I have gone to so much trouble to get this done for a fraction of the price.

I was wondering if there was any way you can clear the unit with the current VIN number to make it look like a new one ? I guess then the Audi software would be able to reprogram it.

Any help would be most appreciated and thanks again ...

Old 03-31-2012, 01:17 PM
Tech Certified

Your VAG friend is an idiot with a laptop.

A Vagcom is a tool for tuners.... to make simple changes in coding. Read faults. That kind of thing.

It doesn't have the ability to replace and code control modules with the car, an internet connection and Geko account and passwords to link Audi Germany servers is needed.

All manufacturers design their software and cars so you have to bring it to the dealer.

Old 03-31-2012, 04:15 PM
Tech Certified

Originally Posted by Audi Tek

A Vagcom is a tool for tuners.... to make simple changes in coding. Read faults. That kind of thing.