General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

engine oil change

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2010, 04:13 PM
1st Gear
Default engine oil change

This forum doesn't really have alot of threads on how to change engine oil on 06 A4. I'll be changing engine oil on my friend's 06 a4, so i need help this is my first time changing oil on an european car.
1) i heard that mobile 1 0w-40 and castrol 5w-40 systhetic are good options. which one do you recommend? it seems like 0w-40 oil turned black before 1000miles left. Should i try mobile1 5w-40 OR castrol 5w-40??
2) If i need a drain plug gasket, then what kind do i need? gasket or crush washer?
3) What oil filter is good for 06 a4?? also, i 'm having problem with understanding how to replace the filter. Do you just take out the old filter and replace with a new one?

thx guys

Old 04-09-2010, 07:05 PM
1st Gear

bump for number 2.. question

Old 04-14-2010, 08:19 PM
1st Gear

there is a DIY on here somewhere, I happen to be searching the same thing to verify the best weight...

I am going with a Synthetic and the parts guy at Audi told me 5W30 for my 2.0T. Summers can be a little warm here, I know when I live in Atlanta, they put 20W50 in me Jetta...

The filter doesn't look that difficult, and if you buy one from Audi it come with a nifty little instruction pack.

Old 04-14-2010, 08:23 PM
1st Gear
Old 04-15-2010, 03:29 AM
1st Gear

i did the oil change after watching the DIY you linked. Do you know where the black gasket with a hole in the center might go in the second picture?
After i put everything back in, i found those two on the ground...lol

Also, on the inside left side of the wheel fender, i tried to screw back in the black plastic screw with wide surface head but doesn't screw into a plate that is behind it..

Old 04-15-2010, 10:45 AM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by whoisthis